Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Songwiters Hall of Fame

Songwriters Hall of Fame

On June 22, 2009, three new inductees were added into the prestigious Songwriters Hall of Fame. Among the honorees were Leonard Cohen, Phil Collins, Earth Wind and Fire, and Taylor Swift. The event took place at the Marriott Marquis in New York City, and included speeches by John Mayer, Billy Joel, Judy Collins, Paul Simon, David Foster and Johnny Mandel.
The Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by Johnny Mercer, a popular songwriter. Along with its anual induction dinner, the organization holds workshops, showcases, and offers scholarships to emerging musical artists. The induction ceremony is divided by a series of awards. These include the Hal Davids Starlight Award, the Johnny Mercer Award, the Abe Olman Publisher Award, and the Towering Song/Towering Performance award,
There have been 345 inducees to the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Notablke HJonorees incluide John Fogerty, Issac Hayes, Carole King, Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, Van Morrison, and many more. A full list can be found here:
Notably, Kerry Politzer, the John Lennon Songwriting Contest 2000 Honorable Mention winner, was given the honor of performing her contemporary jazz song "Love Is In The Atmosphere" at the Songwriters Hall of Fame's 62nd New Writers Showcase.

Photos from last night's events:

No comments:

Post a Comment